dot

Powerball® and Mega Millions® Join Forces in Illinois

Powerball® expected to generate $54 million in annual revenue for the state as players benefit from more chances to win bigger jackpots

For Immediate Release Contact: Tracy Owens (312) 793-1682 (office)

CHICAGO—January 29, 2010—In the largest lottery agreement in U.S. history, Powerball® and Mega Millions® are partnering to create the largest market ever for jackpot games. As of Sunday, January 31, 2010, players in 33 jurisdictions will be able to purchase tickets for both Powerball and Mega Millions at official lottery retail locations. 

With this partnership in place, state lotteries can now offer players both jackpot games. Thirty-three jurisdictions, representing a combined population of 199 million people and 147,000 retail outlets, now offer two multi-jurisdiction jackpot games with four drawings a week, instead of one multi-jurisdiction game with two drawings a week. The market for these games has the potential to expand to 45 jurisdictions representing 291 million people and 182,000 retail outlets. 

Since Powerball’s inception on February 10, 1988, and Mega Millions’ inception on August 31, 1996, the games have generated an astonishing $17.6 billion for good causes, such as education, senior programs, local towns and the environment. With two large multi-state games, participating jurisdictions are expected to generate substantially more money for these good causes. 

“Here in Illinois, we are estimating an additional $54 million annually in net proceeds from the sale of this game to benefit Illinois,” said acting superintendent Jodie Winnett. “Plus, retailers will have the potential for even more sales commissions.” 

Drawings for Powerball will be held every Wednesday and Saturday at 9:59 p.m. CT, beginning Wednesday, February 3, 2010, with a starting jackpot of $20 million. Tickets may be purchased until 8:30 p.m. on the night of the drawing. Draw results will be available at Illinoislottery.com and by calling the Illinois Lottery at 800-252-1775. 

Powerball tickets also will offer the Power Play option for an additional $1, which allows players the opportunity to multiply their non-jackpot wins by 2, 3, 4 or 5. Players matching all five white balls who have played the multiplier automatically win $1 million regardless of the multiplier number.

More Information 

For more information on Powerball please visit www.powerball.com

For more information on Mega Millions please visit: www.megamillions.com

About Powerball and Mega Millions 

Powerball, formerly known as Lotto America, began on February 10, 1988. The base jackpot starts at $20 million. Powerball drawings are held Wednesdays and Saturdays at 10:59 p.m. Eastern Time, 9:59 p.m. Central Time and 7:59 p.m. Pacific Time. 

Mega Millions, formerly known as The Big Game, began on August 31, 1996. The base jackpot starts at $12 million. Mega Millions drawings are held Tuesdays and Fridays at 11:00 p.m. Eastern Time, 10:00 p.m. Central Time and 8:00 p.m. Pacific Time. 


###

About Illinois Lottery

Founded in 1974, the Illinois Lottery has contributed over $18 billion to the state’s Common School Fund to assist K-12 public schools, as well as hundreds of millions of dollars to the Capital Projects Fund and to special causes like Illinois Veterans, the fight against breast cancer, MS research, and assistance for people living with HIV/AIDS. In addition to playing in-store, the Illinois Lottery offers online and mobile play for Mega Millions, Powerball and Lotto at www.illinoislottery.com. Players must be at least 18 years old.

 



dot